Weightlifting: More Dagerous Than It Looks

Weightlifting is a sport that deserves far more recognition than it currently does. Back when I was in high school, I played a lot of sports, including football, and of all those sports that I played, weightlifting was by far the most dangerous. While I did get hurt from time to time in the other sports, the two biggest injures of my life could all be attributed to weightlifting, one of which happing during the biggest competition of my life.

The first time I got injured, it was just during practice, bench pressing. I was one of those small guys who could lift big, and whenever you start working out with weight that weighs two times as much as you do, accidents are bound to happen. I was under the bar lifting 305 pounds, and my spotter let go off it too quick before I was ready for it, and long story short, I ended up getting the cartilage in my ribs all messed up by it. A sport where you can get that messed up just in the training period definitely deserves a lot of recognition.

Bench pressing isn’t the scaring thing about weightlifting though, not by a long shot.  The scary part comes in the form of the clean and jerk, where just one mistake can result in lasting and sometimes permanent damage to your shoulders, back, neck, spine, and any part of your legs. This was also the cause of my second and biggest injury. I was one of the few weightlifting to make it to the state finals in Florida, and I was there to try and win. But when the judges took my best bench attempt off the boards from me, I had to do some weight with the clean and jerk that I never even attempted before just to try and make it on the podium. I was doing a good job at first, but in the end, I ended up dropping 245 pounds strait on my right leg, and going home with nothing to show for it but a week long gangster-limp. I got lucky though, because if the bar had falling just an inch lower on my leg, it would of fell right on my knee, and it likely would have caused permanent, lifelong damage to me.

Weightlifters put themselves at serious risk every time they perform their sport, and it’s for that reason that I think that the sport of weightlifting and the fearless people who compete in it all deserve more recognition than they currently get.

Word Count: 429

Standard

Leave a Reply

